• L'héroïne de ce roman est une détective privée de l'Oregon spécialisée dans la recherche d'enfants disparus, surnommée « La femme qui retrouvait les enfants ». Elle-même rescapée d'un kidnapping, elle a développé une intuition et un instinct de survie hors-norme. On la suit dans ses recherches à travers les patelins et les forêts mystérieuses du Pacific Northwest pour retrouver une fillette disparue depuis trois ans. 

  • En enquêtant sur la disparition de sa soeur, Naomi, « la femme qui retrouvait les enfants », croise le chemin d'une fille des rues de Portland nommée Celia. Naomi tente de faire reconnaître le viol dont a été victime Celia et remonte la trace d'une série de meurtres de jeunes filles. Un roman réaliste et sensible sur le monde de l'enfance meurtrie.

  • Dans le couloir de la mort, enfoui dans les entrailles de la prison, le temps s'écoule lentement. Coupés du monde, privés de lumière, de chaleur, de contact humain, les condamnés attendent leur heure. Le narrateur y croupit depuis longtemps. Il ne parle pas, n'a jamais parlé, mais il observe ce monde "enchanté" et toutes les âmes qui le peuplent : le prêtre déchu qui porte sa croix en s'occupant des prisonniers, le garçon aux cheveux blancs, seul, une proie facile.
    Et surtout la dame, qui arrive comme un rayon de soleil, investie d'une mission : sauver l'un d'entre eux. Fouiller les dossiers, retrouver un détail négligé, renverser un jugement. A travers elle naissent une bribe d'espoir, un souffle d'humanité. Mais celui à qui elle pourrait redonner la vie n'en veut pas. Il a choisi de mourir. La rédemption peut-elle exister dans ce lieu ou règnent violence et haine ? L'amour, la beauté éclore au milieu des débris ?

  • Naomi Cottle is an investigator who finds missing children. But the one child she has never been able to find is her sister. The two were abducted when they were very young but only Naomi managed to escape. Now, twenty years later, there is at long last a clue that her sister might still be alive. Celia is a street child. Her life is tough and she has seen more things that any child should. But the local librarian turns a blind eye when she goes there almost every day to gaze at her favourite book, where she escapes, through her imagination, into a world of wheeling, colourful butterflies. However someone is watching Celia. Street children have been going missing and the town has been turning a blind eye. It is only when Naomi turns up, looking for her sister, that they find someone who will listen to them. And someone who might give them hope.

  • Anglais THE ENCHANTED

    Rene Denfeld

    • Phoenix
    • 15 Janvier 2015

    'THE ENCHANTED wrapped its beautiful and terrible fingers around me from the first page and refused to let go after the last. A wondrous book... so dark, yet so exquisite.' Erin Morgentern, author of The Night Circus A prisoner sits on death row in a maximum security prison. His only escape from his harsh existence is through the words he dreams about, the world he conjures around him using the power of language. For the reality of his world is brutal and stark. He is not named, nor do we know his crime. But he listens. He listens to the story of York, the prisoner in the cell next to him whose execution date has been set. He hears the lady, an investigator who is piecing together York's past. He watches as the lady falls in love with the priest and wonders if love is still possible here. He sees the corruption and the danger as tensions in 'this enchanted place' build. And he waits. Because every monster was once a child, and even monsters have a story . . . A powerful and hauntingly beautiful novel for fans of THE GREEN MILE and THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION.

  • A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel from the acclaimed author of The Enchanted about an investigator who must use her unique insights to find a missing little girl. "Where are you, Madison Culver? Flying with the angels, a silver speck on a wing? Are you dreaming, buried under snow? Or--is it possible--you are still alive?" Three years ago, Madison Culver disappeared when her family was choosing a Christmas tree in Oregon's Skookum National Forest. She would be eight-years-old now--if she has survived. Desperate to find their beloved daughter, certain someone took her, the Culvers turn to Naomi, a private investigator with an uncanny talent for locating the lost and missing. Known to the police and a select group of parents as "the Child Finder," Naomi is their last hope. Naomi's methodical search takes her deep into the icy, mysterious forest in the Pacific Northwest, and into her own fragmented past. She understands children like Madison because once upon a time, she was a lost girl, too. As Naomi relentlessly pursues and slowly uncovers the truth behind Madison's disappearance, shards of a dark dream pierce the defenses that have protected her, reminding her of a terrible loss she feels but cannot remember. If she finds Madison, will Naomi ultimately unlock the secrets of her own life? Told in the alternating voices of Naomi and a deeply imaginative child, The Child Finder is a breathtaking, exquisitely rendered literary page-turner about redemption, the line between reality and memories and dreams, and the human capacity to survive.

empty