Littérature générale

  • Dans le couloir de la mort, enfoui dans les entrailles de la prison, le temps s'écoule lentement. Coupés du monde, privés de lumière, de chaleur, de contact humain, les condamnés attendent leur heure. Le narrateur y croupit depuis longtemps. Il ne parle pas, n'a jamais parlé, mais il observe ce monde "enchanté" et toutes les âmes qui le peuplent : le prêtre déchu qui porte sa croix en s'occupant des prisonniers, le garçon aux cheveux blancs, seul, une proie facile.
    Et surtout la dame, qui arrive comme un rayon de soleil, investie d'une mission : sauver l'un d'entre eux. Fouiller les dossiers, retrouver un détail négligé, renverser un jugement. A travers elle naissent une bribe d'espoir, un souffle d'humanité. Mais celui à qui elle pourrait redonner la vie n'en veut pas. Il a choisi de mourir. La rédemption peut-elle exister dans ce lieu ou règnent violence et haine ? L'amour, la beauté éclore au milieu des débris ?

  • Anglais THE ENCHANTED

    Rene Denfeld

    • Phoenix
    • 15 Janvier 2015

    'THE ENCHANTED wrapped its beautiful and terrible fingers around me from the first page and refused to let go after the last. A wondrous book... so dark, yet so exquisite.' Erin Morgentern, author of The Night Circus A prisoner sits on death row in a maximum security prison. His only escape from his harsh existence is through the words he dreams about, the world he conjures around him using the power of language. For the reality of his world is brutal and stark. He is not named, nor do we know his crime. But he listens. He listens to the story of York, the prisoner in the cell next to him whose execution date has been set. He hears the lady, an investigator who is piecing together York's past. He watches as the lady falls in love with the priest and wonders if love is still possible here. He sees the corruption and the danger as tensions in 'this enchanted place' build. And he waits. Because every monster was once a child, and even monsters have a story . . . A powerful and hauntingly beautiful novel for fans of THE GREEN MILE and THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION.

empty